Our Founders

Middleborough Dollars for Scholars is formerly known as the Citizens Scholarship Foundation of Middleborough. This Foundation began in January of 1964 under the leadership of some great Middleborough citizens. At the inception of the Foundation the Board of Directors was represented by Frank Whitney (President), Paul Doherty (Treasurer), Charles Manos (Secretary), Henry Burkland, Avis Clay, Mary Louise Dean, Marjorie Demers, Samuel Lovell, Daniel McNearney, and John Washburn. Without the leadership of these citizens, we would not have been able to give tens of thousands of dollars worth of scholarship to our students. We are proud to carry on with their goal of "supporting our students through scholarship".